Purpose Prize

Marc Freedman Portrait

The Latest from CoGenerate

The Impact of Intergenerational Service

The Impact of Intergenerational Service

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCElJjBO8Zo National service in this country is predominantly age-segregated. AmeriCorps largely enrolls young adults, while AmeriCorps Seniors exclusively recruits older ones. As a result, we’re missing big opportunities to pair the...

These 10 Innovators Use Cogeneration to Advance Economic Opportunity

These 10 Innovators Use Cogeneration to Advance Economic Opportunity

Our first group of CoGen Challenge awardees are bringing older and younger people together  to boost the economic prospects of substitute teachers, artists with disabilities, people without homes, girls facing hardship in Appalachia, and so much more.   To learn more...


Norman Goldstein

By Kids For Kids Co.
Purpose Prize Fellow 2006

Supporting the creativity and inventiveness of kids

It was his daughter Cassidy – inventor of the “Crayon Holder” – who inspired Norm Goldstein to create By Kids For Kids in 2002, a company that brings kids’ great ideas and inventions to the marketplace. By connecting inventive kids with industry, By Kids for Kids aims to foster creative thinking; to encourage the pursuit of science, technology, engineering and math; and to facilitate an increased sense of self-worth, creative spirit, and even financial gain. The organization has partnered with the National Education Association, after-school programs, community technology centers, corporations, museums, and libraries to offer free “Inventive Thinking” resources and competitions to spur kids’ creativity. Among the products developed so far: The Needle Beetle, a squeezable stuffed “beetle” that makes it easier for kids to receive injections, which has been distributed to 180 children’s hospitals; The Kid Kare Ride-Along, which enables kids to receive medical treatment while riding in a car; and A Kids’ Guide to Giving, a comprehensive “how to” guide for kids who want to donate to charity, which will be available in better booksellers nationwide in October 2006.